When Congress was considering a ban assault rifles in 1994, three presidents signed a letter supporting the ban.

The bill passed and assault weapons were banned from 1994-2004, over the objections of the Pro-Death lobbyists in the NRA.

Ford, Carter, and Reagan said, among other things:

While we recognize that assault weapon legislation will not stop all assault weapon crime, statistics prove that we can dry up the supply of these guns, making them less accessible to criminals. We urge you to listen to the American public and to the law enforcement community and support a ban on the further manufacture of these weapons.